Papyrus Messages

Sometimes, when certain events happen in Papyrus, a message might pop up. These messages can be alerts or contain important information. Settings for messages can be found in the “Preferences” → “User Interface” → “Messages.”

 Show program tips when Papyrus starts” shows valuable tips for those new to Papyrus.

In Windows, you can tell Papyrus to “  Ask when closing last document” which allows you to decide what will happen next (quit, file selection, new document) or whether you would like to close the document and quit Papyrus.

 Ask before adapting existing documents to match universal styles, if these differ from the document’s settings

If you open an old document that has old universal style templates, which you have changed in the meantime, you will encounter a conflict when you open the document. Should Papyrus keep the old formatting (then the old style template will be changed to “local”) or should it be adapted to the new universal style templates?

In some instances warning messages can be very useful because they warn you before you do something unintentional or harmful to your document.

However, those who have more Papyrus experience can find the warnings annoying after a time. That’s why we have added the checkbox “  Don’t show this warning again” to the warning message.

If you have selected this option and want to see the warning again, you can find a list of the warning protocols under “Preferences” → “Messages.” Here you can select messages and turn the warnings back on again.

Last updated by Leon Ramps on October 23, 2017